December 31, 2010

auld lang syne…

Posted in music tagged , at 4:47 am by lucyelenore

I don’t really know what auld lang syne is or what it means. To me it’s just a song that I hear every new year’s eve. See, when I was kid I had an uncle who would play the song over and over again until the new year is ushered in and it is already way into the wee hours of the first day of the year. He’d just keep the song on repeat to what seemed like forever. We’d usually get into a fit, try to get the current radio hits to play but he would just put it back on to auld lang syne. As children, my cousins and I would often complain, then get angry, then frustrated. But, it was all to no avail. After a few years, though, we eventually got used to it and just went on with the flow. (Of course having our own iPods helped a lot). So, that was our family’s new years routine. We’d all get together at my grandmother’s house, eat till we had tummy aches, and watch the countdown on television while auld lang syne was playing on the background. Afterwards, we’d go home exhausted but full of promise and hope for the year ahead.

A few years ago, however, my auld lang syne- loving uncle fell ill. He had diabetes with a whole bunch of complications and soon passed away. The first new year we spent without him felt different, without the familiar song reverberating around my grandmother’s house. And, oddly enough, we missed hearing the song. We missed him. And we miss him still.

Today is the last day of 2010. In a few hours, we will be welcoming the new year. And, as had been a tradition, my extended family will all gather at my grandmother’s house to celebrate it. In a little while I am planning to go to my mom’s house to look for a cd with auld lang syne on it. I think we should be playing it on new year’s eve. Somehow, it just isn’t the same without it. My younger cousins will probably be pissed to hear the song over and over again just as we were back then. But they will learn to live with it.

The cycle continues, just as life will.

I just googled “auld lang syne”. It loosely translates to “for (the sake of) old times”. Yes, I think welcoming the new year just isn’t the same without thinking about the years that have passed.

Here’s to 2011 and all that it will bring.

Happy new year everyone =)

Leave a Reply

